Sharps 40-70

• Last Post 07 March 2021
gilly562 posted this 05 March 2021

Hi,

Newbie here.

Just acquired a Shiloh Sharps in 40-70 necked made in 1995. I know, ‘what the heck did you buy that for?’ Well, I’ve been wanting to get into BPC shooting and really wanted a Shiloh (if you buy the best you’ll never be disappointed). Beautiful rifle, gorgeous wood and color case hardening. It also has one of my favorite things, a schnabel front grip. I love der schnabel. Maybe started with my dad’s Savage 22LR which I have. (still VERY accurate). This came with 200 brass formed from 45-70 govt which surprised me. All the resources I’ve looked at say to start with 45 basic. Also included a good bit of lead bullets. Brass and bullets came from the prior owner, not the one I purchased from. These bullets as is are unusable. They’re so long that  if inserted into the brass so the last grease groove is inside the mouth, the base of the bullet is down past the upper point of the neck.

So I need casting advice to get started. Specifically, recommendations on sources for molds. Sorry for droning on, new toy.

Thanks, Tom

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 05 March 2021

Well, that is not how you determine how deep to seat the bullet. Grease grooves are suppose to be outside the case mouth.

Attached Files

ten-mile posted this 05 March 2021

First of all, if someone asks how to do something you should explain how you do it even if your method is wrong.  Second, when you do write something, look it over to see if it makes sense.  The OP asked for help, not criticism.

The Shiloh forum and the ASSRA forum would likely be a better source for the help asked for.