Gas Checks

• Last Post 26 March 2021
cavscout107 posted this 18 March 2021

Im new to reloading.  I casted my own 150 grain 30-30 rounds with a Lee mold.  Is it absolutely necessary to use a gas check when reloading?  All my equipment is Lee.  I am using a single stage press.  Casted a fair amount of 150 grain bullets over the summer.  Time to reload.....but worried about using a gas check on casted bullets.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 18 March 2021

simply put, yes, you can do very well without using gas checks on your cast bullets.

whether design of base is gas check or plain base.  i haven't used gas checks since 1992 ...

but then i am just a plinker that likes to shoot different rifles and bullets ... 

here are my rules for checkless shooting:

stay under 1400 fps  ... which by the way will kill even our giant Iowa whitetails ... if more power without checks is needed, to blow down trees, use that excuse to buy a 38-55 ... or a 45-70 ...

accept a bit less accuracy ... the checks do seem to be a little more accurate but 2 to 3 moa is easy without the checks. 

hope this helps ... ken

Attached Files

Little Debbie posted this 18 March 2021

Listen to Ken. Loading cast bullets made for gas checks can be used very successfully at 1400 to 1500 fps. with out gas checks. Lube can be applied with a lubrisizer or by pan lubing.