Black Powder substitutes

• 6.7K Views
  • Last Post 29 January 2009
Lefty posted this 14 January 2007

I have hand loaded and shot cast bullets for years.  I have also hunted with muzzleloaders of and on for a while now.  However to date, I have no experience with black powder cartridge guns.  My question is do any of the black powder substitues like Clean Shot, Clear Shot, or 777 give good results in BPCR long range matches?  I will be shooting a Sharps 45-70.

Iknow that I should throw all of this stuff away and go buy fresh black powder, but at the moment, I feel frugal.

Lefty

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
R. Dupraz posted this 15 January 2007

Hi Lefty:

I don't know if I can be of much help reference your question about substitute powders as I use only black in my BPC guns. All the BPCR shooters that I know also use black but that is not to say that all shooters do. I am sure that there are many who have good success with the substitutes and from what I know of them, there is no reason why they will not work for gong/buffalo matches and such. Last I knew though, Pyrodex is the only sub. allowed for BPCR silhouette by th NRA.

Although I have used Pyro. in muzzle loaders with good success, I don't have any experience with the others. From what I understand about them is that they are pretty much similar to black except for the fact that they all produce less fouling. I know that Pyro is measured the same and the same loading process is used for BPCR.

One good place for info regarding this is the Shiloh Sharps Forum. A lot of these guys that frequent this forum are hard headed black shooters but there are many who are not. Just do a search on the subject. I know this topic has come up fairly frequently there in the past over there.