Best Bullet mould for 223 rem 1:12 twist Rem VVSF

• 9.1K Views
  • Last Post 04 August 2009
aap2 posted this 24 April 2009

I just bought a Rem VSSF 223 heavy barrel is 1:12 and want to work up cast bullet target loads for it.  I was wondering what would be a good choice for a 22 cal mould?  My casting experience has been mostly handguns and obsolete black powder rifles such as 577-450, so that 22 bullet looks awfully small to me, but I like a challenge.  Is the Lyman #225646 55gr “super silhoutte” bullet any better than the @225438 44gr or the 225415 55gr?  I could also but RCBS, Saeco or a custom mould if it's worth it. Thanks.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 24 April 2009

aap2,

Well, I can't help you a lot, but you are on a long slipper slope. I started playing with 218 Bee's 10 years ago, and still don't have a great bullet for it. My advise is: forget anything softer than lino or HT'd alloys, cull the bullets well, and throw back anything that looks maybe bad, and keep trying.

Good Luck, Ric

Attached Files

aap2 posted this 24 April 2009

Thanks for the advice, I have a casting furnace, Star sizer etc, just no experience with 223.

Attached Files

tturner53 posted this 25 April 2009