Test

• Last Post 18 March 2021
pat i. posted this 08 March 2021

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Boschloper posted this 09 March 2021

Good looking powder coat. How about some details on the bullet?

Attached Files

pat i. posted this 09 March 2021

I used an Accurate 31-165sb (b for bevil base) as a starting point. I had my mold cut .302 on the nose, .304 on the 1st band, .307 on the 2nd band, and .310 for the base and band ahead of it, all positive tolerances. Powder coating kinda threw a monkey wrench into those dimensions but it wont hurt to try shooting it. I'm new to powder coating bullets and shot some for the first time yesterday out of a 32 long and a 38 special. Seems to work good at the speed I was shooting them which wasn't too fast.

Attached Files

I have a taper die in one of my presses that brings the diameters pretty close to the uncoated diameters so a fair test against bare bullets should work. This is a low velocity plainbase bullet in a factory rifle so I dont expect miracles.

Attached Files

Tom G posted this 09 March 2021

Hi Pat, 

Your bullet looks real good. I've been PC'ing my pistol bullets for about a year now and I don't plan on going back. Using Eastwood red and the shake and bake process I pick up about .004" increase in diameter over cast. I use the 6 cavity Lee molds for high production pistols bullets and they work well as they usually cast on the small size as compared to other commercial molds. All I do for sizing is run them through a Lee push through die. Using the Lee molds they don't get so big with the added PC.  If I was to go for a custom mold I would have it cast at right about measured groove dia.  It doesn't seem to hurt the ones I'm shooting by sizing them down to groove or one thou. over.  They shoot very accurately and never lead the barrel. 

If you want to test your bullets for adhesion, just take a hammer and smash one down into a flat washes and it the coating stays on, you're good to go.