Ultrasonic Case Cleaning

• 2.4K Views
  • Last Post 02 November 2010
mike morrison posted this 30 September 2010

I see hornady now has a ultrasonic case cleaner. i see another on the market also. has anyone tried this method? any recomendations or experiences or opinions.

after many firings my cases will not come as clean inside as i would like. corncob in a vibrator keeps the outside clean but does not seem to do much on the inside.

had thoughts of the ceramic media also. shoot some black powder and have folks say it works good for that. seems like ultra sonic would do well for black powder cases also.

just looking for info before i leap into something i have no experience in. all info or comments or experience welcome. and thanks in advance

m

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
primersp posted this 30 September 2010

i never see an used ,several times fire cases issued clean from an ultra sonic cleaner. if you clean one time shoot is ok but for the olds no best use with vinegar and salt.

Attached Files

billwnr posted this 30 September 2010

I bought one off of ebay a few years ago because of an article I read on the 6mmbr website. It really cleans cases nice. Don't know if it makes them group better but it makes the shooter look good.

One benefit is it cleans out the inside of the neck squeaky clean. You'd be surprised how much crud comes from inside the case.

Attached Files

JetMech posted this 30 September 2010

I wouldn't have any issue using one, they work great, but follow the directions. We use several ultrasonic cleaners for aircraft engine parts and there is a very specific time limit, especially on cheaper ones that do not vary the frequency. We have demonstrated that, with a fixed frequency cleaner, in a couple hours use, holes will begin to appear in aluminum sheets. The turbine rotors we clean have a 15 minute limit with fixed frequency cleaners.

Attached Files

c3d4b2 posted this 05 October 2010