Lyman Mold Problem

• 2.4K Views
  • Last Post 23 January 2011
Steve E posted this 07 July 2010

It might not be a mold problem it might be a me problem.  I have been casting Lyman 475 gr. 45/70 bullets and it seems I have a spot on the middle band that doesn't want to fill out. I am using straight wheel weight and have tried casting at 650, 750 and 800* to see if it will fill out but It still seems to be there, even after casting 40 to 50 bullets at each setting. Mold is clean, mix is clean. I am a newbie to casting as I only started in 1992. Thanks for any info.

Steve E...........

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
JetMech posted this 07 July 2010

Steve, I would have to say that the mold is not clean at that point. Sometimes, when I'm having problems like that, I wrap a piece of OOOO steel wool around a wooden dowel, chuck the dowel up in a cordless drill and spin it in the mold for a minute. That usually takes care of the problem. HTH.

Attached Files

Steve E posted this 07 July 2010

I just happen to have some 0000 and a dowel that i was using to clean up a chamber so I can use that. It looked clean but I guess it might not be. I'll give it a try. Thanks.

Steve E.........

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 07 July 2010

"Looking clean” usually isn't enough. Oils and greases in the pores of the metal may only be weeping out at high heat. Boiling water, an old toothbrush and a little soap will usually cure this if it isn't caused by a blocked vent line. Ric

Attached Files

jppr26 posted this 08 July 2010

i have had the same problem, and as ricinyakma said boil it and scrub it with some dawn, works for me.

Attached Files

Daryl S posted this 15 August 2010

Hot tap water, toothbrush and Ajax Cleanser does an incredibly good job of de-greasing about anything.

Attached Files

.22-10-45 posted this 03 December 2010