45 caliber Kentucky Rifle - lead round ball size?

• 1.4K Views
  • Last Post 19 November 2021
  • Topic Is Solved
Jasonarm92 posted this 18 November 2021

I recently inherited a 45 caliber Kentucky Rifle replica (barrel states, "Dikar, Spain .45 Cal.").  I think it's a CVA import from the 1970's. What diameter lead round ball is made for this rifle?  .440" or .445"?  Or does it even matter which of these two diameter balls is used?  I'm new to black powder shooting, muzzleloading, and casting bullets.  Thanks for the information.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Boschloper posted this 18 November 2021

I use a .440 ball, but I wish I had a .430 or a .435 mold so I could use a thicker patch. 

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Jasonarm92
Jasonarm92 posted this 18 November 2021

Thanks Boschloper!  I assume you are using 0.015" patches now, but what thickness patch do you want to use and why?  I'm still learning about muzzleloaders and trying to understand the benefit of a thicker patch.  Thanks!

Attached Files

JeffinNZ posted this 18 November 2021

Do yourself a favour and buy this material.  BEST around.

Cheers from New Zealand

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Maven
  • Jasonarm92
rhbrink posted this 18 November 2021

100% agree with JeffinNZ!

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Maven
tlkeizer posted this 18 November 2021

Greetings,