Lever action in .35 Whelen?

• 8.9K Views
  • Last Post 04 September 2009
WalterHunt posted this 21 January 2009

Interested in building some .35 Whelen. I'm new to reloading my ammo, only done some .223, .357 mag., and .45 colt, so I don't have lots of experience. I have some once-fired 30-06 cases, Speer 250 gr. spitzer with IMR 3031. Plan on getting a new barrel for my T/C Pro Hunter. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Also did anyone produce a lever action in this caliber/ Thanks.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Antietamgw posted this 22 January 2009

I would imagine a Win 95 or BLR long action would work. Don't know if they chambered the new ones in .35 Whelen but either could be rebarreled. I like my BLR .358 Win but don't really push it much as I haven't needed the velocity. I've seen a number of BLR .358's on gunbroker lately at prices 20% or so lower than you could find them for a couple years back.

Keep your plowshare and your sword. Know how and when to use them.

Attached Files

R D posted this 22 January 2009

Water; When I made up some whelen brass I found that fireforming was a lot more uniform than die forming. Also after fireforming you need to aneel the necks gently

Rodger

Attached Files

crash87 posted this 29 June 2009

The only lever I would know about would be to rebarrel or rebore a '95 winchester. In fact, a number of years ago I did just that. A rebored 270 and I went with a 1:12 twist. My favorite jacketed load is with the 250 speer and RL-15. I lapped the bore using LBT's method and am now shooting cast (LBT 260gr LCFN w/gc)exclusivley, again with RL-15. Try your IMR 3031 then give reloader a try, it is perfect in the Whelen. It also wears a lyman 66 peep.

Attached Files

bruce posted this 07 July 2009