What Power Scope

• 4.4K Views
  • Last Post 24 November 2008
mrbill2 posted this 16 September 2008

Hello All

I'd like to try some benchrest cast bullet shooting at 100 and 200 yds. Should I buy a variable power scope or just a straight power. I have two variable on other guns and they are hardly ever turned down to the lower power. Thought I might just as well go for a 24X or 36X. Your thoughts.

New barrel brake in. The barrel is new and I intend to shoot cast bullets. Now, do I shoot jacketed bullets first to brake in the barrel or start with cast from the start?

I'm new at this and need all the help I can get !!l

Thanks

Mr. Bill 

mrbill2

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 16 September 2008

If you plan on doing BR shooting with the gun go with a fixed 36 power scope. I used to break in barrels for cast bullet shooting using the one shot clean, two shot clean routine with jacketed but the last few barrels I put on I just shot them with cast from the start and didn't notice any difference. I should mention that these were Shilen barrels.

Attached Files

CB posted this 11 November 2008

Bill                                                                                                                                    

I would suggest you try and find a Weaver 36x scope either dot or crosshair for your 100/200 yd bench shooting. Weaver's are probably the easiest 36 to find now since so many were made. If you are on a budget Tasco makes a nice 36x see one on e-bay once in a while. Weaver's end up at NBRSA shoots also check Bruno's.

Stephen Perry

Angeles BR:fire

Attached Files

pascalp posted this 12 November 2008

The weaver T36 is good, Leupold 35x45 is better, not the same price!

Go for what you can afford, and squeeze your groups.

I own both (and more), use both routinely,  segregate depending on rifle quality.

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 20 November 2008