Sprue Plate Design

• 3K Views
  • Last Post 12 October 2008
jimkim posted this 14 September 2008

I was wondering if any of you have made your own sprue plates. I want to make one for my Ranch Dog mould. I was thinking about making it .375” thick and connecting the pour-holes with a shallow channel. I like how the bullet bases come out when I shear one larger piece of lead as opposed to two small pieces. I want to build it with two adjustable set screws so I can use the plate to help square the mould when I close the plate. I even thought about putting a latch on one side. I know I haven't been doing this long, but I noticed things that I thought could be improved and started thinking about features I would like to see. Any input would be appreciated. After all I am new to this.

PS: The reason for that much thickness is because I want it rigid and I want to be able to true it up from time to time.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
vmwilson posted this 08 October 2008

I made a few for some single and double cavity moulds out of aluminum plate and was happy with them, though I don't presently have any moulds set up with em'.

The old NRA book of Harrison's discussed the advantages of aluminum sprue plates and it was a material I could work with my elementary tools easily enough.  It helps the sprue cool a little quicker I believe but since I've gone to using a cooling box for my moulds I don't get any problems with overheating anyway.  I'm too ignorant of machining to know how one cuts the trough, but assume that's a milling type job.

Mike

Attached Files

JeffinNZ posted this 09 October 2008

Cheers from New Zealand

Attached Files

jimkim posted this 09 October 2008

Nice piece o work m8! Did you you use a ball nose? The funnels look rounded. How thick is it? I think that is what I'm wanting.

Attached Files

vmwilson posted this 09 October 2008

I used a standard hardware item countersink on mine with similar results.

Mike

Attached Files