Lee Metford Load

• 2.7K Views
  • Last Post 29 December 2010
batjka posted this 08 February 2008

Gentlemen,

I have recently acquired a Lee Metford Speed Patent rifle. The bore looks bright and shiny. I went out to try it with some surplus ammo.  The bullets were hitting at about POA at 100 yds. However, all bullets keyholed. Not totally sideways, but still were hitting the target at an angle.

When I put a bullet in from the muzzle end it went in all the way to the driving band.

So I decided to handload the rounds. Bought a bunch of reloading equipment: Lee Hand press, 303 dies (neck and FL), crimping die etc. I've never reloaded before. Found a guy that sells .314 cast bullets for $35 + $9 shipping.

I am looking for a load that could work with this rifle. Powder type, amount, the works.

As I am new to this matter, any help with developing an appropriate load will be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Mike H posted this 09 February 2008

For bullets up to 200 grains weight, I would try 18grs 4227, 20grs 4198, 28grs 4895. Barrel  diameter, internal, is important. Your bullets may be a good fit, or they may not be. Try what you can find. Personally I like to see moderate loads in those old rifles, some of the surplus mil ammo will shake them around too much.

Attached Files

dromia posted this 09 February 2008

I'd take a throat, bore cast or slug first so that I knew what I was dealing with and then get bullets to suit.

Bullet fit first then the powder loads.

My Lee Metford likes the Lyman 314299 GC coming out at .314” with softish range scrap WW alloy, the softer 10-11 BHN Cabine Tree hardness tester, sets up better in the shallow Metford rifling.

I'd go with Ed Harris's universal 16gn Alliaint 2400 as a starter, or my UK derivative 17.5 gns Vihtavuori N110 :D

Attached Files

batjka posted this 09 February 2008