Reloading Sanity Check for 9mm

• 1.9K Views
  • Last Post 04 November 2016
  • Topic Is Solved
zhughes posted this 27 October 2016

Hi all,So I'm just getting into reloading and I'm ready to load my first live round (in 9mm).I've spent the last month to two months in my free time reading about everything and anything I can find online, watched tons of YouTube videos, and read through the Lyman cast bullet and Lee reloading books (the informative beginning chapters). I'm hoping to post the info about my current recipe and measurements to see if I can get some feedback from some seasoned reloaders that can read my info and say “that sounds about right” or “you'll blow yourself up” or “you need to think about/measure/account for X too". I'm not looking for someone to give me a definitive answer of “yes, you'll be 100% safe", just a sanity check from experienced folks that what I've put together seems like I've accounted for everything in a way that doesn't appear like I'll kill myself when I pull the trigger. Ok so here goes:<>To start with, I'm using the load data for the Lyman#356637 147gr that's on the bottom right of page 248 in the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook 4th Edition; My powder of choice is Unique with a starting weight of 3.2gr<>My bullets are cast from wheel weight lead using the Lee 6-cavity .356 124gr LRN mold<>The actual weight of the bullets I've measured (about 20) range from 126.4gr to 131gr (which is why I'm using the 147gr load data)<>The mold advertises bullet widths of .356, but most of the bullets I've casted measure .357<>I'm shooting a S&W Shield, barrel slugs @ .354<>I'm powder coating the bullets<>The OAL of the dummy rounds I've made are 1.158. They cycle through the Shield flawlessly<>After dropping a 3.2gr charge in a case (with a spent primer) and analyzing where the bullet would seat, there is plenty of space between the bullet and powder<*>After creating a dummy round, the width of the case remains under the max allowed by the saami spec