Wanted to buy: 38/45 Clerke forming die, die sets and info

• Last Post 3 weeks ago
  • Topic Is Solved
Seattle slug posted this 3 weeks ago

I have an extra 1911 45 acp, and an extra 38 super barrel.  I want another spring project.

Anyone have any experience with the choice?

Seattle slug

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
MP1886 posted this 3 weeks ago

Excellent little round. I've been shooting one for 40 years. Mine was done up on a 9mm barrel.  The forming dies and loading  dies I have were made my Hollywood Dies out in California and I don't know if they are still in existance, but I'm positive CH dies will have or make them.  Now let me tell you about the forming DIES. It's not just one die, it's four!  It's quite a step down taking a 45acp to the 38.  The 38/45 feeds absolutely flawlessy.  It's not meant to be a hot hotrod round. If you do it'll blow the web out of the case unless you made it up on a ramped barrel. The firing pin hole will cut donuts out of the primer cup too when the pressure is high. My pistol had the firing pin hole bushed to a 9mm/38Super firing pin. Using 308 cases to make a thicker stronger case isn't real great either, it's a hell of a sizing job and you have to either ream or neck turn the necks.  Using large rifle primers in 45acp cases to stop the donut cutting isn't such a great option either and it's plenty hard to seat the rifle primer flush. Bo Clerk meant the round for target shooting and easy chambering and it's best to leave it at that. My barrel is hand fitted in a match pistol and it's one of the most accurate pistols on the 1911 that I own. Remember like I said don't load it to be a magnum.  I told a friend that I had a barre done for that and he went ahead and did it against my advice. It blew the wed out of the 45acp case, blew the magazine out of the pistol and wrecked it, and blew the both grips off the gun.  The wood splinters in his hand weren't fun.