Hodgdon TITEGROUP in rifles 308.223 rem

• Last Post 12 February 2024
joethereloader posted this 31 December 2023

any  advice

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Aaron posted this 31 December 2023

Don't.

With rifle in hand, I confidently go forth into the darkness.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Bud Hyett
hporter posted this 31 December 2023

I have no personal experience, but Hodgdon includes both of the calibers you asked about in their online reloading calculator for Titegroup under the subsonic loads tab with the following bullet weights.

I use Bullseye a lot for subsonic "Cat Sneeze" loads with cast bullets.  But I recall reading that Titegroup can be temperamental, but don't recall the particulars.

I would love to be educated though, as I recently found a stash of this powder that I had set back.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Wm Cook
Tom Acheson posted this 31 December 2023

John Alexander has used loads of 5.5-grains of TG in a .223 with an 80-grain NOE bullet. You can see these loads listed in the FS.

I have the same NOE mold and have used 8.5-grains of SR 4756 in quite a few matches, in my XP-100 chambered in .22 BR. That case capacity is slightly larger than a .223. I also tried 7.5-grains of WST and 12-grains of 4227 and 4198, but the 4756 shot the best.

SR 4756 is out of production, so I found some TG locally and bought a pound. Using some direct ratio comparisons of the .223 vs. the .22 BR case, I plan to try 7.0-grains of TG in the .22 BR, after the arctic conditions leave our area.

The .308 case is larger than the .22 BR case. Sometimes we find ourselves contemplating teeny amounts of fast burning powder in a large volume case. Some people stay away from those combinations, while others......

Tom

Attached Files

Wm Cook posted this 31 December 2023