30-40 Krag sizing diameter

• 5.1K Views
  • Last Post 07 January 2013
Chargar posted this 28 December 2012

I spent a little time this morning going back over my loading records for the 30-40 Krag. I have been loading for this round for 50 years, so there is lots of records.

I have three military Krags, a Winchester 95, a Japchester 95 and a Krag with an 03A3 barrel set back and rechambered.

In all of the military Krags, best accuracy in every one was with bullets that are .314 is size. Barrel groove diamters doesn't seem to matter as they are .308, .3195 and .312. The ages are 1895, 1899 and 1901 of these Krag rifles. Logic would tell us these military Krags have fat throats like prefer big bullets.

I don't push these old brittle metal rifles hard with 16/2400 being the most used powder charge. I have used lots of different bullets, but my fat 30 molds that throw bullets .314 - .315 is a Lyman 311291 and a Lee 311407 Modified. They both do very well.

I have a record of every round loaded and fired since 1958 and that is allot of paper! Sometimes, just going back and reading proves to be helpful thing.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ed Harris posted this 29 December 2012

It would be really wonderful if you would glean the best lessons learned from your notebooks and compile an article for The Fouling Shot. It should be pure gold!

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

frnkeore posted this 30 December 2012

charger, are you asking for others results or are you just saying that you have a welth of info on the 30/40. if thats the case i would also like to hear about it as well as the grouping for your most sucessful loads and the distance shot. 200 yard results would be of most interest.

frank

Attached Files

Chargar posted this 30 December 2012

No, not asking for others results. Just passing on what I have learned over the years.