The source???

• 3.9K Views
  • Last Post 27 July 2009
Vassal posted this 25 July 2009

Hello,

I am relatively new to shooting and casting and find myself a bit lost in some of the more complex discussion that go on here. I hear things like “throat reamers, and chamber casts, bump and taper dies, neck turning et cetera and I am (almost) entirely lost. Can anyone recomend a book or other source for a thorough and welcoming introduction to the finer points of shooting?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Duane Mellenbruch posted this 25 July 2009

Other than joining the CBA forum, have you  obtained a copy of the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook, 3rd edition?  This is one of the books that is the first steps that many of us began to build our knowledge of bullet casting basics.

Have you used the search feature on the main page to look up those terms that you are not familiar with?  I am not saying that all those questions can be answered, but there certainly has been a lot of material covered since this forum was created.

This way, you can learn at your own speed and if you find something interesting just follow that thread until it ends.  The learning experience is worth the time it takes.  Duane

Attached Files

CB posted this 25 July 2009

Good questions and I think there's quite a few people that don't understand the language. The throat of a rifle is the portion in front of the chamber that guides the bullet into the bore. There's a few different types of throats which you can search on this forum because there was a couple of good discussions with pictures explaining them. When throating a rifle for cast bullets all you're doing is reconfiguring or lengthening the throat to give better guidance to the bullet. When rethroating a factory barrel you'll want to clean up the existing throat so will pick a size on your throater that'll accomplish it like .310 or .311 for 30 calibers. Below is a picture of a throating reamer.

Attached Files