New Mould Question

• 5.3K Views
  • Last Post 19 May 2008
Calehedron posted this 28 April 2008

I have 2 Lyman 429667 4 cavity moulds.  I cleaned them the same way, boiled them, and sprayed them both with the FA lube.  I used one with the lube and it cast great bullets and when I read others didnt like the stuff, i brushed it out of the other and cleaned it again so that it was just plain.  Now the one I cleaned the FA lube out of wont cast a single bullet without voids, wrinkles, and other imperfections.  I have them on 2 sets of handles and cast them back to back.  One casts perfect, the other like ass.  Both are heated the same, casting about 5-6 casts before keeping any to make sure temps are up.  Alloy is runnig between 700-750.

Does the one mould most likely just need more break in time?  I have  looked it over and I cant see anything in the cavities that would be causing big voids near the head or the bands to be distorted.  Im still new to this so any suggestions woudl be welcome.  I have checked all the vent lines and they appear to be clear.  Maybe I should spray them down with cleaner and boil them again?  At a bit of a loss here.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 29 April 2008

Hey Calehedron