first bullets

• 1.8K Views
  • Last Post 29 April 2012
45sixgun posted this 25 April 2012

I've been reloading for a few months now, but also lurking on the forum, reading up on casting. Yesterday after work I successfully cast my first bullets. They're for my .357 Blackhawk. I'm using an LBT mold with quick homemade handles. Over the weekend I had tried a thrift store ladle, but it was too big and didn't have any kind of pouring groove. I picked up a small one with a pour groove new for a couple of bucks and it worked perfectly. This is really fun! I have some LBT Blue Lube I'll be using. I also have molds for .44 and .45 to try next.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
hunterspistol posted this 25 April 2012

Well, now, there you go! Those are decent bullets, go ahead and try some 44s and 45s. It isn't all that hard and the payoff is right there in your hand.

Good Luck,
       Ron

Attached Files

rwjshooter posted this 27 April 2012

Hi

You'r hooked now

welcome

Ray

Attached Files

delmarskid1 posted this 27 April 2012

When I started I made a pretty good ladle from a table spoon by crimping a pour spout at the tip with a pliers and mounting wood to the handle with wire. Those are some fine bullets. You started with a good mould. Welcome aboard the Pb train!

Attached Files

45sixgun posted this 28 April 2012

Thanks, Guys!

Got my first handgun in October and have been busy learning the ropes.

Here is the result of my last outing. Sure tasted good.

Attached Files

Dale53 posted this 28 April 2012

45Sixgun; First of all, Congratulations! The bug has bit and the infection will spread! But that is a GOOD thing!

I have taken many a rabbit (both cottontail and snowshoe rabbits) with my centerfire handguns (.32 S&W long, .38 Special/.357 magnum, .44 Special, and .45 ACP). One shot, one kill and no shot to chew on. This is one of the most sporting activities available.

Dale53

Attached Files

joeb33050 posted this 28 April 2012