Gas Check

• 5.4K Views
  • Last Post 19 July 2011
1kshooter posted this 26 May 2011

I am new to the world of G/C and i was just wondering how tight they should be attached to the bullet?

I am using a lee bullet sizer and I only had one RCBS check to try..attched to base and put through sizer...and I can turn it my hand (fingers) and would be able to pop it off with a fingernail. is this normal?

Thanks for your time!

Jonathan

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
6pt-sika posted this 26 May 2011

I get them like that and they shoot okay for me .

Attached Files

oh ok thanks , I am going to order some of the aluminium gas checks have you ever tried them?

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 26 May 2011

1kshooter wrote: oh ok thanks , I am going to order some of the aluminium gas checks have you ever tried them? Nope , just Lyman , Hornady and Gator checks .

Attached Files

Ok thanks Bro!

Attached Files

James Ball posted this 26 May 2011

Get the gas check to fit as tight as possable.otherwise it might fly off in flite.modifi the mold if nessary for the base of the bullet tobe large enough for the check tobe a snap on fit.make bullets as flat as possable on the bottem befor installing the check.put a small file on the bench,set bullet on top of the file,pull the file from under the bullet until its square on the bottem.then put on the check.size the bullet too the size that fits your gun.weight the bullets,then lube with a die 1thousants bigger than the size that you used to size the bullet.should give good results.works for me.James Ball 

Attached Files

My gun likes .458-.461 ...the new bullets are .457..I hope that with gas checks that they will be ok in my gun!

Attached Files

PETE posted this 27 May 2011