Does anyone use cast bullets in the M-1 Garand?

• 3.8K Views
  • Last Post 02 December 2007
feather posted this 27 October 2007

This is my first post on this board.  I've been casting bullets for about ten years and I've been using them successfully with black powder cartridges at silhouettes.

Recently, one of the clubs I belong to has started shooting a military type match for cast bullets using smokeless powder in military rifles.  Most shooters are using some type of bolt action rifle from a variety countries and different time periods.  The only full military rifle I own is an M-1 Garand.  I've used it in the past with jacketed bullets in military matches.

My question is, can cast bullets be shot in an M-1 successfully?  If it can be done, I'd like to know how to do it and what considerations must be given to the rifle, the alloy and the load.

Thanks in advance for any information.

feather

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Duane Trusty posted this 01 November 2007

feather Try the following load Bullet Lyman 311291 Powder IMR 4054 42.0 gr Winchester Large Rifle Primer GI Brass Good Luck Duane Trusty Member

Attached Files

feather posted this 01 November 2007

Duane,

What amount of hardness should I be trying to get with an alloy?  I have soft lead, wheelweights and linotype as well as tin.

Thanks for the bullet, brass, primer and powder recommendation.  Does that load cycle the action for rapid fire strings?

feather

Attached Files

feather posted this 01 November 2007

Duane,

Since I haven't worked with smokeless powder for some time, I thought that IMR-4054 might be a new powder.  However, in checking my current Lyman manual, I don't see a listing for IMR-4054 and I was wondering if you mean IMR-4064?

feather

Attached Files

Molly posted this 01 November 2007