Barrel Tuners

• 5.2K Views
  • Last Post 26 November 2007
CB posted this 31 August 2007

"Heh Heh,  I suppose I could be a nuisance and bring up the fact that you guys have not included ” tuners” as a hideously complicated factor in determining ” accuracy” ... or ” relative accuracy"  ... or ” absolute accuracy” ... so I won

Above is part of a post by Ken Campbell from another thread.

Ken, 

I have no experience with tuners and initially thought using one would be a great thing to try but after thinking it over might have found a fly in the ointment when it comes to using one on a cast bullet rifle and that's lube.

In my mind one of the nice things about using a tuner once you have a good load and tuner setting worked out would be it's ability to make adjustments for changing temperature conditions throughout the day or year. An example is that you get a good load worked out that has a velocity of 2000 fps when it's 90 degrees that turns to mush at 50 degrees when the velocity drops to 1925 fps, I don't know if this is an extreme example or not but you get the point. With a jacketed bullet you could adjust the powder charge to get velocity back up to the sweet spot or you could turn the tuner to get the barrel harmonics back in balance which is as far as I can figure out the purpose of the tuner in the first place. Since you have no load control with a  a .22 I assume you just play with the tuner until the gun starts shooting again.

With a cast bullet you'd have the ability to adjust the barrel harmonics but would have no control over the temperature effects on the lube itself.  I don't know about other peoples experiences but I've found temperature has a big influence on a lubes performance and I can't think of a way to tune it out.

Any Thoughts??

Pat

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 03 September 2007

pat i. wrote:

Ken,