Shiloh Sharps 38/55 Not Stabilizing

• Last Post 21 January 2024
Gordon posted this 05 January 2024

Have a recent acquisition of a shiloh sharps 38/55 with a 34 inch barrel, 1 in 16 twist. Cannot get it to stabilize, have tried 2 different weight projectiles at 320 and 365 grains and different powder loads from 43 to 49 grains of Wano 2p.

I have more than 30 years of Black Powder experience with Gibbs, 45/90 Remington Rolling Block, 40/65 Sharps. All using my own cast bullets with good results, winning many events out to 1000 meters. 

Have used 20:1 and 30:1 alloys   Plus 365 grain BACO Creedmore and 320 grain CBE molds

Please Help

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
4060may posted this 05 January 2024

black powder?

bullet length?

velocity

a .375 bullet, at 1300 fps, 1.25 long requires a 1-14.5 twist to stabilize

a 1.125 long bullet at 1300fps will stabilize with 1-16 twist

according to Greenhill formula

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 05 January 2024

also, 38-55 is notoriously suspect of incorrect bullet fit in throat and main rifling. 

as a co-incidence i am currently making a bump-up die for a 38-55 that " tumbles " 0.378 castings ... needs 0.382 or so ...

hah, this one is flying sideways at 30 feet from muzzle ... kinda neat ...

ken

Attached Files

Glenn R. Latham posted this 05 January 2024

Ken, do you have any of those Starline 2.125" cases.  They have thinner necks for fatter bullets.

Glenn

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Ken Campbell Iowa
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 05 January 2024

Glenn ... good idea ... might need those thinner necks.  this is an old 94, i think 1895 or so ... still has rifling in front of throat tho ... kinda ...

Attached Files

Tom Acheson posted this 05 January 2024