Ladle vs Bottom Pour / Linotype vs #2 Lyman

• Last Post 22 November 2023
Wm Cook posted this 20 November 2023

The practices I use for casting match quality bullets has been in a state of flux these past couple years.  I’m still learning.  

A new mold came in last week and it caused me to work with a bottom pour vs ladle cast and Linotype vs #2 Lyman as I worked with the bullet to bore fit.

For the past year or so the only bottom pour I’ve done was with mass production 9mm & 7.62’s.  All .308 match bullets were ladle cast using Linotype, single cavity brass.

For whatever reason I’m starting to think that bottom pour allows more consistent mold temp, more bullets per hour and just as consistent bullet uniformity.

Swapping #2 for Linotype made a difference in bore fit with the softer alloy.  Barely noticeable in dimensions but where Linotype stuck in the lands, #2 extracted.  No data +/- regarding accuracy.

What are the pros & cons of ladle/bottom pour, Linotype/#2.  Or is it just personal preference.  I’d appreciate your thoughts.  Bill Cook.

A “Measured Response” is as effective as tongue lashing a stuck door.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
OU812 posted this 20 November 2023

Whatever the mould likes. I am sure your single cavity 30 cal requires a faster casting speed to keep at correct temp. I have a double cavity 458 caliber mould that requires slowing down the pace or mould will overheat. My go to method is ladle, but if the mould likes it I will use bottom pour.

Softer alloys will chamber more easily than hard. You can open throat up a tad using lapping compound and 0000steel wool wrapped around bronze brush.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • RicinYakima
  • Bud Hyett
RicinYakima posted this 20 November 2023