PVC Wads

• 3.8K Views
  • Last Post 21 June 2012
John Alexander posted this 02 June 2012

I have tried pvc wads with gas checked bullets on and off but could never see an improvement in accuracy and sometimes it seemed to make things worse. Some have had good luck with them especially with plain base bullets which I have no experience.

Do they help gas checked bullets? Plain base? If so what needs to be done to make them work? What size should they be? How thick?

John

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
nimrod posted this 02 June 2012

I use them a lot for plain base bullets both breech seated and in fixed ammo. They seem to help prevent leading, some loads leave a lot of lead flakes the plastic wads stop that and improve accuracy over the course of a day of shooting. I use .060 LDPE which I make myself and load them tight to the base of the bullet in the breech seated rifles. In the fixed ammo I want the wad to fit tight in the neck of the case so that it will not slde down the inside of the case somewhere between the bullet and powder. That could make for a bad situation I think and could lead to a ringed chamber or worse. I don't use them in bottle necked cases and have never used any with gas check bullets. I used them in 32-40, 38-55, 40-65, 45-70, 45-90.

Attached Files

Dale53 posted this 02 June 2012

I have used pvc wads extensively in BPCR with black powder. They are my choice. I seem to have more consistent groups at long range with their use.

I use .060” thick wads and cut them myself with a press mounted die set.

Dale53

Attached Files

Paul Pollard posted this 03 June 2012

John,

In 2003, using the .222 Rem, MX3-22 bullet, and 10.5 H4227, I shot a whopping 4 groups to test PVC wads. These are .062 gray PVC wads, cut about .225 diameter.

At a regular match at Washtenaw we shot 4, 5-shot groups for record. 2 groups with wads: .616 and .676, average .646. 2 groups without wads: .768 and .809, average .788.