New Mould!

• 7.7K Views
  • Last Post 07 June 2011
Michael Petrov posted this 03 June 2011

I have been shooting a 33 1 6/10” WP on a Ballard for a few years.  For the last couple years I've been using my .33-Pope mould and wanted to get a modern one to use so I don't ware out the Pope.

The first mould I ordered was a disaster. Last winter I heard that David Mos was back making moulds so I gave him a try.  I sent him some of the Pope bullets and got a mould from him. It seemed to cast good bullets once it was up to temperature but just takes a long time. Plus it weights three times what my Pope mould does. Why are modern moulds so big?

Off my soapbox and back to shooting. It was cool and light rain this AM perfect shooting weather, I like to shoot when the conditions are like that and I have the range to myself ;-).

First shot was a little low changed the scope and fired five from the fouler box which are .2 grain different than the keepers.

5-.830"

Next was the good bullets 5-.458"

Another five shots in .615", rain was picking up so I fired a ten shot @ .815".  

Looks like it will work my first mix and first lube with this mould so I'm happy for now, with work I should be able to improve it a lot.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
codarnall posted this 07 June 2011

Very impressive, data a little difficult to sort out though.

Attached Files

They have web based auto/cad type design tools to use on-line now it seems. I'll definitely slug my old 86's with their worn barrels and get hot on this trail.

Attached Files

Michael Petrov posted this 07 June 2011

Back to the range this AM trying different primers. Fired five 5-shot groups at 100 yards, smallest .550 largest at .895 for an average of .765".

Fired one ten-shot, then came home.  Need to move out to 200-yards.

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 07 June 2011

codarnall wrote: I don't no where I've been:

Checks this out, design your own molds.