"Lube purge" fliers

• 2.4K Views
  • Last Post 12 April 2011
Fred_Dwyer posted this 10 April 2011

Today I was getting about 1 in 8 shots that “disappeared,” since I was holding otherwise solid groups I figured these must be lube purges, I mean I'm a better shot than that to lose 2 off the paper./images/emoticons/134.gif Seriously, 4 rounds nearly touching then, where'd #5 go...?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
pat i. posted this 10 April 2011

Try cutting back on the lube.

Attached Files

tturner53 posted this 11 April 2011

Fred, if you do a test with the exact same load/conditions only minus some lube let us know how it goes. The lube purge theory sounds good but I'm skeptical that it happens that way, not that I'm an expert.  It just seems to me excess lube buildup is cumulative and should throw shots out progressively worse, not all fine then suddenly bingo! gone, then back to fine again. I can't explain those wild fliers myself, but I have my doubts about the logic behind the 'lube purge theory'.

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 11 April 2011

A flier in my way of thinking is a couple inches away from the group .

Even with my old derelict leverguns with antiquated scopes I can usually keep the fliers inside 2 or 3 inches at 100 yards !

This lube thing sounds kinda bogus to me as I've fired as many as 30 shots without cleaning the barrel with very good to excellent results .

Attached Files

Fred_Dwyer posted this 11 April 2011

Fred, if you do a test with the exact same load/conditions only minus some lube let us know how it goes.Oh I sure will.  I try to keep the shots slow and barrel temperature even between rounds, seat the bullets true into the neck, check trim-to-length every loading. I don't feel any noticeable change in recoil to indicate goofy primers. Sort the bullets by weight, light ones (</= -0.3 gr) go back to the melt. Maybe later I'll weigh my brass and see if maybe I mixed up lots and have some severely tight ones.