30/30 accuracy woes - help

• 7.6K Views
  • Last Post 23 January 2012
squibload posted this 30 March 2011

I am a newbie to the forum but have cast pistol bullets for ages with good results and recently got serious about casting for rifles.  Good results with the Lee .311/.312 RN 180gr in SMLEs and Moisin Nagents.  I have a bunch or 30/30s - Win Mod 94s and Marlin 1936 and 336s - no microgrooves.  Bought a Lee no. 90368.  It casts well and produces a 170 gr FN measuring a consistent .308.5.  I cast up a bunch with a medium/soft alloy and ran them through a .309 lubrisizer - so far so good.  Loaded up several hundred with 16gr of 2400 for a starter load.

Took all my 30/30s down to my range and after 3 frustrating days with 6 rifles produced groups at 50yds ranging from 4 to 7 inches!!! No evidence of stripping or tipping.  Where did I go wrong?   Am considering another go with AA 5744 and dropping the bullets in cold water to harden them.  Interesting that a Winchester pre- 64 Mod 94 and a NRA Comemorative 94 will not chamber without jamming hard into the rifling - even if loaded short over the front driving band?

I know some don't like the inexpensive Lee moulds but I have had good luck with them and the bullet noted above seems to be more or less correct. I am stumped and would like some comments to get me out of this hole.  Thanks: Squibload

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Fred_Dwyer posted this 30 March 2011