Keyholing

• 3.6K Views
  • Last Post 24 February 2012
Lchoice posted this 01 August 2010

Hi everybody,

I am pretty new in the game of casting and shooting lead bullets and therefore struggle a little bit. When shooting my handgun I get good accuracy (3” groups with a red dot sight at 50 yards) for the first 10 shots. Then the bullets start to keyhole and the accuracy goes bad (12” or worse). After I clean the barrel the same thing happens again. I have no idea what is wrong and how to fix this.

I am shooting a Thompson Encore with a 12” 44 Mag barrel. The bullet is a Lyman 429421 powder 10gr Titegroup and a home made bullet lube 50% vaseline and 50% parrafin wax. The bullet speed should be close to 1300 ft/sec.

Unfortunately, I cannot seat the bullets to be close (.020") off the lands since Thompson cuts the throat very long.

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
primersp posted this 01 August 2010

perharps the lube try to change

Attached Files

tturner53 posted this 01 August 2010

First, welcome to the forum. It sounds like you're getting leading in the bore to me. What is the diameter of your bullets? I'm shooting a .433” in my Ruger SBH. I'm not up to speed on TCs but with a revolver you need to seal the throat to prevent gas cutting and leading, which ruins accuracy. Also, what is your alloy? I think a lot of people go with a too hard alloy.

Attached Files

Duane Mellenbruch posted this 01 August 2010

Lchoice wrote: I am shooting a Thompson Encore with a 12” 44 Mag barrel. The bullet is a Lyman 429421 powder 10gr Titegroup and a home made bullet lube 50% vaseline and 50% parrafin wax. The bullet speed should be close to 1300 ft/sec. Are you starting with the MAX load given on the Hodgdon web site?  Better to start low and work up til you either get accuracy.  Duane

Attached Files

Thank you for your reply. What lube or lube recipe do you suggest?

Attached Files