Several 410 loading questions

• 2.9K Views
  • Last Post 05 June 2019
zhughes posted this 03 June 2019

Hi all,

I've been loading pistol and rifle on blue equipment for a few years.

I picked up a break open .410 a couple weeks ago. I don't plan on shooting it a lot but I would like to work up some loads for it just because it's a new caliber for me to tinker with.

With that said, I've seen some cheap ways to reload without a press online which is the route I will go.
I don't need a $200 press to hobby load maybe a couple hundred rounds a year.

Since this is my first dive into shotshell loading I've got a few questions, so here goes:

- It seems like there are a bunch of different types of wads - when looking at reloading data manufacturers usually call out a specific was brand/model. How much does this really matter? Could I just pick up whatever's cheapest and roll with it? I wonder if this is similar to a debate around primer brands - everyone says you need to work up loads with different brand primers but I use the exact same load data with whatever primer brand is on sale. I've used Winchester, Sellier & Bellot and CCI and have never had a noticeable difference

- The same question above but with hull brands. Does posted load data using a Winchester AA shell really differ that much vs say, a Remington hull assuming both are the same length?

- I've read you do and do not need to resize. Which is correct? I only have one .410, break open at that, with no intentions on purchasing another. I would think I wouldn't need to?

- I've read where folks are using cardboard and felt instead of plastic wads. What's the purpose of the felt? What if you used an extra layer of cardboard instead of felt? Would cardboard vs plastic wad change your load data?

- Can you purchase rifled slug projectiles or does anyone make a mold for them?

Thanks!

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Dale53 posted this 03 June 2019