Ladle Casting

• Last Post 19 April 2022
Wm Cook posted this 16 April 2022

This isn't intended to be a grand "how to" into ladle casting.  I just wanted to share a few observations hoping that someone could recommend how I can improve from where I am right now.

By now you know I'm new to cast accuracy and although I've been casting for decades its only in the past year that I focused on shooting small cast groups with a long gun.  Prior to that all of my casting has been with #2 Lyman's and various bottom pour Lyman furnaces.  Two inch groups from a lever gun at 50 yards was fine by me. 

When I started to focus on accuracy I knew the day would come when I would have to start ladle casting with Linotype.  From the git go I was happy with how things went.  But when I switched to longer casting sessions and my molds started to include multiple cavity molds and molds of different material things got complicated.

Properly ladle casting bullets that are good enough to compete in CBA competition seems to have as many nuances as any other aspect of cast accuracy.  So I though I would ask for input from others about some of the methods I'm fell into using to see if I'm on the right track.  Again, no expert here.  Just a rookie learning as he goes.  And some of this is probably so basic that its a waste of your time to read but I guess I had to verbalize it to those more knowledgeable than I hoping for feedback. 

Accuracy work has been done with a .308 bolt gun in the bullet weights between 200 and 220 grains.  Everything is with off the shelf Linotype from RotoMetal.  Equipment was a Lyman 10lb dipper and a standard Lyman dipper.  I tried the RotoMetal smaller 2 1/4" casting ladle but it was a little big for the 10lb pot, however the concept of the RotoMetal ladle seems solid.  Since I was only dealing with a single cavity 220 grain mold I just stuck with the old Lyman ladle I had sitting around for nearly 30 years.