Difficulty keeping same OAL in 45 ACP

• Last Post 14 December 2020
  • Topic Is Solved
brooksharris posted this 13 December 2020

Although I'm relatively new in the CB arena I have shot at a high level for decades.  I confess to being O/C with nearly every step my reloading.  Recently I received 500 x 2 of a different maker's H&G 68 200 gr. .452's.  I have had wonderful results shooting Montana's Penn's, and Dardas.  I will not name the maker of this latest batch.

I load this bullet to maintain a 1.260" OAL to minimize jump and still work in all mags.  With this latest maker's bullets I weight sorted as I always have but as I seated them I noticed a significant variance in the amount of shoulder visible above the case neck...more than normal to nearly none.  Upon measuring the length of the bullets I found .016" variance...but only a fraction of that  with the above listed makers.

I don't cast and am willing to pay more for a superior product.  Please advise how this can be when the listed makers produce such uniform bullets.

Blessings and stay well,

Brooks Harris

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
David Reiss posted this 13 December 2020

If I understand what you are saying, it can easily be explained because most cast bullet manufacturers use Balisticast machines with multiple molds. Because the bullets come from several different molds, although supposed to be the same, have variances not checked carefully by the caster.   

David Reiss - NRA Life Member & PSC Range Member Retired Police Firearms Instructor/Armorer
-Services: Wars Fought, Uprisings Quelled, Bars Emptied, Revolutions Started, Tigers Tamed, Assassinations Plotted, Women Seduced, Governments Run, Gun Appraisals, Lost Treasure Found.
- Also deal in: Land, Banjos, Nails, Firearms, Manure, Fly Swatters, Used Cars, Whisky, Racing Forms, Rare Antiquities, Lead, Used Keyboard Keys, Good Dogs, Pith Helmets & Zulu Headdresses. .

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • RicinYakima