Lube for Black Powder??

• 11K Views
  • Last Post 24 February 2016
kevo posted this 15 July 2013

Would love to hear what you all are using in your black powder loads. I'm interested in tumble, pan and lubesizer types, both home made and commercial. If you include a recipe, please note that I am a BASIC cook and some advice on quantities and methods would be appreciated. (I can do 45-45-10 Recluse for smokeless powders ) Cheers, Kevo. :cowboy:

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Dale53 posted this 15 July 2013

Kevo; I shot BPCR Silhouette for about fifteen years. My lube of choice was Emmert's home mix. Melted volume: Pure Natural Beeswax 50%, Crisco 40%,and Canola Oil 10%. I modified Emmerts for better shelf life replacing the Canola Oil with Anhydrous Lanolin.

This is an excellent pan lube (I use 9” cake pans from the thrift store) and also works well in Lube/Sizers.

SPG is a good, but expensive commercial lube.

I have used that formula for successful silhouette and long range work with 40/65's and 45/70. It also works extremely well for black powder cartridge pistol (.45 Colt, etc)..

FWIW Dale53

Attached Files

kevo posted this 15 July 2013

Thanks Dale, that sounds like a nice easy recipe with materials that I can source.

Attached Files

nimrod posted this 15 July 2013

I've been using a lube that I make (not my recipe) somebody else did the home work but it does seem to work very well, still expermenting though.

7 parts beeswax 3 parts dexron tranny fluid 3 parts lanolin

Someody will start screaming about using a petroleum product with blackpowder. But tranny fluid is some special stuff and this lube does work very well at least in cooler weather I have not shot it in hot weather but I'm about to find out.

RB

Attached Files

R. Dupraz posted this 16 July 2013