Pan lubing, lube formulas

• 6.6K Views
  • Last Post 18 July 2022
21gun posted this 24 February 2013

Ok, so I'm still new in the bullet casting hobby. I have watched many videos in you tube on sizing and lubing bullets specifically pan lubing. So I the most popular lube formula seems to be 1lb of Vaseline to 1lb gulf wax and 2 tbsp of STP oil treatment. I have made a batch of this lube and lubed some of my bullets with but my lube seems to pull away from the bullet easy and be very soft. When I push my bullets out of the lube either from front to back or back to front the lube seems to roll out of the grease grove. So I ask you are there better formula for lube pan lubing; something that is stiffer and holds better?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Dale53 posted this 01 February 2015

I wrote an article a number of years ago for the Single Shot Exchange. It covers the details of a very good lube for general use, both black powder and smokeless:

http://castpics.net/dpl/index.php/the-library/bullet-lubes/313-pan-lubing-piece-of-cake

FWIW Dale53

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Ed Harris
jabo52521 posted this 17 January 2015

I started pan lubeing again last week. My formula is 50/50 beeswax and vasaline. Add a teaspoon of automatic transmission fluid. Works fine. Clings pretty good.

Attached Files

Wineman posted this 18 January 2015

I pan lubed with Speed Green, which is Beeswax and Bullshop mold hinge lube. Put the pan in a 175 degree oven and put the bullets in when it melted. Turned the oven off and let it cool. When it was nice and solid, I was able to give each bullet a whack and they came out. Reloaded with fresh bullets into the holes, and back into the oven. Lather, rinse, repeat...

Dave

Attached Files

Bud Hyett posted this 19 January 2015