Loads for Colt Police Positive Special 32-20

• 4.5K Views
  • Last Post 04 September 2012
Old Ranger posted this 10 August 2011

I just traded into a Colt 32-20. 4 inch barrel in excellant condition. 32-20 reloading data for revolvers is not too common. I have both Lyman moulds designed for 32-20. 31108 and 311316GC. Have found some data for 231, HP38, Unique and Trail Boss. Haven't slugged the bore but a 311 bullet will pass through chambers, a 312 will not.

Any suggestions what to start with? Looking for an accurate plinking load which will go easy on the old Colt

I have ordered a set of RCBS cowboy dies. I have some experience loading 25-20 so I know about thin case necks etc.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 10 August 2011

Congratulations on your new Colt! You have the smallest and lightest 32/20 revolver ever made, but they are noted for being very accurate.

I shoot lots of both those bullets, but mostly '316 in revolvers because my S&W's require 0.313” bullets and my 311008 mould cast lino-type bullets at .311", too small.

The most accurate plinking load I have ever found is 3.0 grains of Bullseye with the biggest and softest (1/2 WW's and 1/2 lead) bullet that will chamber.

PM me with your email address and I will send on an article I wrote for the Fouling Shot a few years ago on the 32/20.

Best wishes,

Ric

Attached Files

salvadore posted this 25 November 2011

I have a OP in 32/20 with .314 chambers. I loaded up a bunch of hollow based wadcutters over a forgotten powder. The thing I like about it is I have fired 2 or 3 hundred rounds down range and the bore is still squeeky clean.

Attached Files

salvadore posted this 25 November 2011

http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm297/farcla/shooter2.jpg

this one

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 25 November 2011

That looks like a nice clean OP. My only Colt is an Army Special, good group shooter, but not to point of aim.

Attached Files