25-20 general purpose load

• 6.4K Views
  • Last Post 10 March 2008
Lefty posted this 31 January 2007

I have a 25-20 TC Encore rifle that I have been using with jacketed bullets.  I use the rifle for general pest control and mostly for my own amusement.  I want to find a good all purpose cast bullet load.  I have little experience with plain base bullets but have been unable to find a GC mold of my liking.  So- any recommendations out there for a nearly full power load with an 85 gr plain base bullet?  Recommended bullets, powder,etc??

Thanks

Lefty  

sorry for the double send - operator error :(

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ed Harris posted this 01 February 2007

Gaschecked design bullets will work OK without the GC up to about 1400 f.p.s. in a smooth barrel. In small cases such as the .32-20 with plainbased bullets I've had very good luck loading a nominal “caseful” of 4198 or RL-7 with slight compression. You can't cram enough of these powders into the case to get into any trouble and it is “nearly” a full power load, as you want.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • John F.
Lefty posted this 01 February 2007

I have 4198 on hand so will give that a try. I have also used unique with success in larger cases such as the 30-30. Do you see any problem with a small charge (4.5 gr or so according to an old lyman manual) of unique with a plain base bullet?

Attached Files

Dale53 posted this 05 February 2007

I have long used 14.5 grs of RL-7 with a 70 gr GC (Lyman 257420 linotype) bullet. This is a compressed load and chronographs just under 2200 fps from my “new issue” marlin lever action. This is NOT a load for a weak actioned rifle.

Another load that works well in my rifle is same bullet over 11.0 grs of RL-7. I have not chronographed that.

My squirrel load is same bullet over 4.0 grs of Unique. This is a superior squirrel load.