How come too much lube can hurt accuracy sometimes?

• 3K Views
  • Last Post 20 May 2011
Canuck Bob posted this 19 September 2010

This mystifies me.  I'm a trained mechanic and lube is good, too little lube is bad.

It seems self evident that lots of lube helps the high pressure/velocity loads, correct?

Light loads seem to be effected by too much lube, correct?

Could someone educate me on why this works as it does?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
billwnr posted this 19 September 2010

I think too much lube unbalances the bullet, or clogs up the barrel and forces the bullet to “scrape” it out.

I know I have seen those pesky 8th shot flyers before.

Attached Files

tturner53 posted this 19 September 2010

The function of lube is a science in it's own right. You could spend years testing the variables. I read something by Ken M. about using COW and unlubed bullets giving better accuracy at speed than cbs with lube and COW. The lube degraded accuracy. Go figure. The COW loads would not lead the bore. I'm in the school of thought that lubes main asset is as a sealer against gasses, not really lubing directly. Maybe leaving a lube residue helps with the next shot, both lubing and sealing. If it builds up in the bore you lose consistency. Lately my approach has been 'less is more', (and I'm lazy), very lightly tumble lubing with a LLA/mineral spirits/ Johnson Paste Wax mix. Working great on a variey of things. This follows the Ranch Dog method which has been very successful.

Attached Files

DAMRON G posted this 19 September 2010