WRINKLES

• 3.9K Views
  • Last Post 17 October 2011
adrians posted this 13 July 2010

HI EVERYONE I HAVE A ?,

i'm very new to casting so please humor me , when the bullets come out of the mold with what i call wrinkles (i'm using lee 45.70 mold ),,iread the insructions it came with and followed them to the letter ,well what i'm asking is why the wrinkles?. is my mold too cold ,or too hot ,or what,? thanks for listening to my rambling,adrians  :hunt:   :taz:

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
tturner53 posted this 14 July 2010

Possible reasons for wrinkles: mold not clean, mold too cold, alloy too cold. There's others, but that's the big three. It's a very common problem, search here and read away. Get your alloy hotter, make sure you clean that mold good, and go to it at a fair pace, gotta get the mold heated up. Those big bullets should come out smooth pretty quick, it's a good one to learn on, more forgiving than a little bullet. Don't settle for less than perfect, you can do it.

Attached Files

JSH posted this 14 July 2010

Just my take on this subject, same thoughts as above. The first say 10-20 you drop are culls. KEEP going as it takes the mold quite a while to heat up. Don't fool around between pours. As soon as the sprue is cool which is only a few seconds, cut it drop it and pour another. What is your alloy? If it is a dead soft lead, you will have to run a hotter pot than WW. If WW or a some what unknown alloy a bit of tin will help a lot. There are two types of CB's, perfect and culls. I know a lot of folks getting started figure if it drops from the mold, that is what you get. If the CB does not look EXACTLY like the inside of the mold, it is a cull. Plain pure and simple. Would one settle for buggered up jackets on their full length gas check stuff, I think not. NO reason to accept it with a CB either. Stay after it. jeff

Attached Files

canalupo posted this 14 July 2010