Winchester 94 chambering

• 1.7K Views
  • Last Post 31 March 2010
NITROTRIP posted this 30 March 2010

Morning all,

Chambering question? Has a model 94 ever been chambered in 225 winchester? Reason I ask is I was given a 70's vintage with a bent barrel. About a 1/4 bow mid point. I am a machinist and was going to re barrel it. I have bigger bores, so I was thinking of a 22cal chambering. And about the same length as a 30WCF so no action work for feeding. And keep pressures under 40,000. I alway,s wanted a 218 bee in a 92 but those are a little hard to come buy. The pointed bullet thing is not an issue as iron sights only. What are your thoughts?

Thank You, Rick

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ranch Dog posted this 31 March 2010

NITROTRIP wrote: Michael, I am also getting an older Marlin 336 marked Western field. I think that is what it is. it has a very bad pitted barrel. Will it handle shorter cases without a lot of fuss. Might be another one to do something fun with.

Thank You all, Rick Like a previous poster noted, I shoot .311 round balls out of my three Marlin 30-30s and if they can do that without a hitch, they should be able to any of the other considerations.

Attached Files

galenaholic posted this 31 March 2010

NITROTRIP wrote: Thank You All, The 22 Savage HP Looks to be the ticket. I looked around a little for brass but only found Norma for $2.00 each. Can you neck down 30WCF without much trouble? I know I would have to turn the necks, but will it take several neck steps or forming dies?

ED Useing the .224 barrel and marking it like a tight neck chamber is just a GREAT idea. That is why I passed over this cartrage and the cost of the brass. As this was my first thought for rim size.

Thank You all, Your the best, Rick