.44 Cast Bullets

• 3.1K Views
  • Last Post 17 July 2011
sinken posted this 16 February 2010

I am a newbie at reloading and would like some ihfo / knowledge on loading .44 mag and spcl. using cast bullets. These will be used in a puma lever action. Would eventually like to cast my own.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 16 February 2010

I shoot a variety of different bullets out of my Ruger SRH and NEF44. I like the keith style 240gr swc with 6.7grs of bullseye for plinking and I use a 260gr LBT WFN with 24grs of H110 for hunting. Holds about a 2” group at 50 yds if I do my part.

Attached Files

Buffalo Bill posted this 16 February 2010

For hunting with your lever action I agree with Jeff that a LBT WFN is an excellent choice.  LBT bullets with a LFN (long flat nose) MAY (or may not) be a little long to feed from the magazine when the bullet is crimped in its crimping groove.

Some Keith type SWC (semi wadcutter) bullets MAY not feed through the magazine due to hanging up on the chamber mouth and/or being too long to feed out of the magazine tube onto the cartridge lifter.  This may not be a problem with your Puma, but it has happened to me with a Marlin M1894.  The SWC bullets generally work fine in revolvers and single shots, or single loaded in the chamber of a lever action rifle.

My comments are limited to experience with .44 Magnum cases.  Some potential feeding problems may be solved by using .44 Special cases.  However, I prefer to use Magnum cases for heavy hunting loads.

Hopefully, someone with Puma rifle experience will post here to help answer some of these questions. 

Attached Files

giorgio de galleani posted this 16 February 2010

You must note that 44  pistol bullets are not 44 carbine bullets.

Long nosed swc bullets usually do not feed in leveractions.