RCBS sizer die

• 2.6K Views
  • Last Post 17 April 2010
Dew posted this 02 February 2010

I have two Lyman 450 sizers that I've been using for over 30 years with no problems. It has been my understanding that the 450 will use the RCBS sizer along with the Lyman.  In fact, I've got 3 RCBS sizers that work just fine.  However, I just ordered an RCBS sizer .400 for my 10 MM Smith 1006.  The die will not go all the way down enough into the 450 to put the retainer nut on it.  I've tried it in both the 450s and it will not work.  I measured the diameter of the sizer and it is .703 from the bevel to the top of the sizer. OAL of both brands of sizers is the same. The RCBS sizers I've had for a number of years all measure .698 and work just fine.  I THINK the problem is the sizer is to large to go into the bevel at the bottom of the 450 where the return rod comes up to push the bullet out the top of the sizer. Has there been a change in the diameter of the RCBS sizers or perhaps I just was sent one that is to “fat” to work?

Ordered it from MidSouth. I don't know if they will take it back or I will have to deal with RCBS.

Any comments?

Thanks, Dew

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
JetMech posted this 02 February 2010

I'd clean the lube out of the sizer, put some prussian blue on the base of the die, put it in the sizer and spin it alittle to see where the contact point is. If it's the outside, lower bevel, the easiest thing is to just grind a slight bevel on the die body. 10 minutes fitting work could save you alot of wasted time sending it back, just to get the same thing back. It's probably a minor manufacturing change.

Attached Files

BillT posted this 02 February 2010

Dew, I had the very same problem couple weeks ago, talked to a Tech at Graf's, he never heard of the problem, told me it was defective and I sent it back and got a credit. That is what I would do. Ended up buying a Lyman and it worked.

Bill

Attached Files