45 colt duck gun

• Last Post 03 March 2018
delmarskid posted this 24 February 2018

A few months ago I picked up a Stevens single .410. I don't remember the model but it looks like the Savage 219 I used to have. It was cheap. What we call a "milk house gun" up here.  They live in the barn to wipe out vermin and sick cats. Well anyway I wanted to shoot this thing and I didn't feel like buying shells. I did remember that I had about 20 45 colt loads from way back and they fit the chamber well enough so I shot them through the smooth bore and hit the paper at 15 feet with the bullets going through face first. I was surprised and now had empty cases as well. So I re-primed them , dropped 4g of bullseye, a card wad for the 45-70, as much no.6 as they would then hold and topped with another card. These were patterned on a piece of carboard at 10 long paces and printed a nice even 6" pattern. Now Betty and I have been harboring and feeding Muscovy ducks for about three years. We started with 5 hens and a drake (Mandrake by name). We should have named him Abraham because we now have about 65 of these things crawling, eating, and the other all over the place. They breed like mosquitoes and nobody wants them. They do eat good but are a bear to pluck and dress. I don't chase things too good anymore so these 45 colt shot loads are just the ticket. I can snuff a big drake and skin out the breast in about 15 minutes. I have 28 breasts soaking in a pastrami brine as I type this. 14 carcasses are at the edge of the woods and some coyote is going to get the bloat.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • RicinYakima
Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
delmarskid posted this 03 March 2018