Best rifle for Military matches?

• 11K Views
  • Last Post 01 February 2010
Vassal posted this 10 July 2009

Hello, I have been shooting and reloading and casting for a few months now---I Love It! As I am going to be purchasing a new rifle and corrolary equipment in a few weeks, and I hope to practice, join CBA and then take part in matches (postal first then maybe a trip to Illinois) I want to know what you think the best rifles for this purpose are. I really want to research this buy and get something great instead of what happens to be on the shelf in front of me (which is usually great also but,,,) I am not rich, and by “all considered” i mean to include availibility of rifles, parts and brass, selection of bullets and molds, PRICE, et cetera. Thanks guys.

Vassal-of-One

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ed Harris posted this 10 July 2009

For military issue class, IMHO the 03A3 Springfield has the best sights, useable trigger, shoots well and uses common brass and bullets. Hard to beat. The Swiss K-31 is common and affordable, but better for somebody under age 40 with good eyesight.

For my money look for a nice condition original Remington 03A3 with 2-groove barrel and perfect bore. Pay what you must to get a good one. Try any 150-200 grain bullet that fits, cast of wheelweights+ 2% tin and 15 grs. of #2400. If you want to get serious, have Veral Smith cut a mould to fit your rifle. My two cents.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

BruceV posted this 10 July 2009

There are many good military surplus rifles available. Given how they are designed, etc., some are more easily used for cast bullet military rifle matches.

I prefer to use either a 1903 or a 1903-A3 for military rifle shooting using either jacketed or cast bullets. I have had sterling results with my 03 using cast bullets. In both of my 03-A3 rifles, results are equally good. I simply prefer to use my 03.