50-50 Foundry/Lead Mix

• 3.5K Views
  • Last Post 03 March 2009
Pbbbfischer posted this 01 March 2009

Good Morning to all:

Thanks in advance for all the help. I am new to casting and mainly started just to keep my cost down. I was looking to cast for 38/357 and 45 but, after reading all the interesting stuff here I may at some point move over to shooting CB in some of the CMP rifle shoots that I participate in.

All this leads me to this question:

I have access to more much Foundry type than Pure lead or Lino. (My father was a printer and I can kick myself now for all the Lino and foundry we took to the recyclers years ago) For a start I was thinking of starting with a 50/50 mix if lead and foundry. Which if I calculate it right would make something like 7.5/11.5/81 at 17-18 BHN. I know for a lot of you that may sound like wasting a lot of precious tin and antimony. Maybe when I become more experienced I will try to separate some of these alloys and become a little particular with my mix. At this point I would like to cast a bullet and shoot it and still have my gun in one piece and have as little lead in the bore as possible.

What do you all think of this mix as a start? Most of the factory made cast bullets I have tested have been about 16-20 BHN. I am looking to tumble lube at first and maybe also pan lube some BAC that has been raved about on this forum.

Ant suggestions for a first timer, Pbbb

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
runfiverun posted this 01 March 2009

i think it will be too hard and cause leading. for 38 45acp 45 colt all you need is a bhn of about 10 or so.

Attached Files

454PB posted this 01 March 2009