Dip Lube changing Diameter

• 3.2K Views
  • Last Post 03 December 2008
shootingShiloh posted this 01 December 2008

Hi all,

Newbie here, first post. I have done alot of reading from this site in the past to get me going in casting.

Now I have a question, I am casting a pure lead 530gn .54 slug for a Shiloh. As this rifle can be fired with paper cartridges I have made all my tubes up and cast a few bullets. I then dip lubed with SPG gold.

hat I have found is that by using the dip method, I increase the diameter of the bullet.

What are people doing to ensure the lube fills the grooves only?

I have been scraping off the excess lube with a knife but I imagine the has to be a better way. Any suggestions?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Duane Mellenbruch posted this 01 December 2008

You might try placing the lubed bullet on a flat surface and slipping an old cut off case down over the top of the bullet to scrape the excess lube off the surface.  This is similar to  the cookie cutter method of removing the bullet when pan lubed style is used.  You might need to partially resize the case to just lightly touch the surface of a dry bullet to “adjust” the diameter of the case mouth.       Duane Mellenbruch  Topeka, KS

Attached Files

shootingShiloh posted this 01 December 2008

Thanks Duane, that method will work well for my larger 45/70 bullets.

However, the Shiloh .54 has no case, its a paper cartridge affair or insert the bullet into the chamber with a piece of dowel then top off with BP and close the block. Drawback with this method is that you gotta load it with the rifle pointing towards the ground, a pain in the behind when you are shooting prone.

I am wondering if I just push the bullet and the tied on paper cartridge in the chamber as far as I can, it will cause the excess lube to shave off I imagine.

Does excess lube cause fouling issues during a course of say, 20 shots?

Much appreciated, its good to be learning ;)

Attached Files