.218 Bee cast loads

• 2.2K Views
  • Last Post 29 October 2022
loophole posted this 13 June 2018

I have a Ruger #1 in .218 Bee.  My best loads with jacketed bullets were around 1".  I worked for a while with cast bullets a few years ago, but got bored with inconsistency.  Anyone want to share any goods loads in the .Bee?  I have been shooting #1's and #3's for almost 50 years, so I think folks have taught me most of the accurizing quirks of the rifle.  I also have a very accurate (with jacketed) #3 in .223, but I never have gotten great groups with cast.  All suggestions will be appreciated.

Steve K

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • M3 Mitch
Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Glaciers posted this 29 October 2022

It certainly has character.  I did own one other small Martini which I seriously regret selling.  It was a Westley Richards rook rifle.  It was a beautiful deluxe takedown in 300 Sherwood.  

But, I did receive the 36 grain slick sided mold in the mail yesterday.  So I will post a couple of pictures of the 36 grain mold and the other Arsenal mold I hope will work in the 16 inch twist barrels.  I’m hoping to cast with both this weekend.

Attached Files

Wm Cook posted this 29 October 2022

John I loved the pictures of your Martini. That stock and butt plate are not damaged in the least. It just reeks of character. With a tight action, good bore, some brass and a couple molds you could easily get a couple, three hundred hours of fun out of it. And probably get by with 50 pieces of brass.

And I always wanted a Martini. About 20 years ago I was pouring over source’s to find one out of Australia. Never could connect. Just like with the Mauser and Mosin’s they were bought up by C&R’s holders in the 80’s, 90’s. I got to share in the buying the European equipment back then but the little Martini hadn’t hit my radar screen until after 2000.