Proud New Owner of a Marlin 336RC in 35 Rem

• 6K Views
  • Last Post 23 November 2008
CB posted this 04 March 2008

I picked up a Marlin 336 today in 35 Remington. Had it scoped while I was there.

I have a two molds that are appropriate for this rifle, I think. RCBS 357 180gr Silhouette and a Lyman 357 214gr SWC. I am looking for suggestions on other bullets to cast and shoot in this fine rifle.

Plus I am looking for brass.

So for the moment, I am the proud Pappa of a new lever gun.

Jerry

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
6pt-sika posted this 04 March 2008

I have that Lyman 215 grain SWC GC mould , but so far I have just shot it in the 357 MAG rifles I have !

You might give seriouse consideration to a pair of moulds .

The first would be the old standby RCBS 35-200 GC mould , I've been using that one for quite a few years now with great results .

And the other would be the yet to be publically released Ranch Dog 359-190 GC mould . I have this one and the earlier 359-180 version and like them both !

http://www.ranchdogmolds.com>www.ranchdogmolds.com

Attached Files

CB posted this 04 March 2008

6pt,

I have two RD Molds at the moment and very happy with them. They are the 45 - 350 and 44 -300gr one. He doesn't have a 357 listed at the moment.

I use my Lyman 214gr mold for 357 Mag and 357 Max, so it I load things properly, I could use the 214 gr for my L Frame, my Contender and my 336. But that may be wish full things. Thanks for tip on the molds.

Jerry

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 05 March 2008

miestro_jerry wrote:  

I have two RD Molds at the moment and very happy with them. They are the 45 - 350 and 44 -300gr one. He doesn't have a 357 listed at the moment.

Jerry , he originally made a 359-180 GC mould which I happen to have one of . It works great in the 356 WIN , but there were some issues in the 35 REM .