Best Bullet for 50' Indoor Competition ?

• 8K Views
  • Last Post 12 June 2012
ConRich posted this 28 December 2007

I would like to participate in the 50' indoor pistol matches that my club runs during the winter months. The problem is that I have been reloading with jacketed bullets for many years but have very little experience with cast lead bullets. We can not use jacketed bullets at our indoor range.

I will be shooting a S&W Model 15, .38 Special with a 4” barrel.

My questions are, what type and weight bullet should I choose for this type of competition ?

If I buy a mold to cast my own, what are the pro's and con's of the “Tumble Lube” vs the “Size & Lube” type of bullets ?

TIA,

Rich

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 28 December 2007

Hi Rich For what you are shooting I would go with a wadcutter 148 to 158 gr. Run with a charge of bullseye of 1.9gr and you should be in the ball park. Nice load, mild recoil.

Myself personally, I prefer a size and lubed bullet.

It is my opinion that tumble lubed bullets are messy to deal with. JMHO If you go this route you will possibly need to get a Lee push through sizing die also.

Have you measured the cylinder throats on your revolver to see what diameter bullet you will need to use?

You may find that Lee doesn't offer a standard tuble lube mould in the size you will need.

Attached Files

ConRich posted this 29 December 2007

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your reply to my questions. I do have a RCBS Lube-A-Matic so all I would need is the propper sizer and top punch for the bullet that I choose to go with.

You mentioned “Cylinder Throat Size", is that the measurment that is used to determine the bullet size? I always thought that it was the bore groove diameter that determined bullet diameter. As I said, my knowledge of cast bullet reloading is limited.