Tech data sheets; what is "Bumping"?

• 5K Views
  • Last Post 27 June 2015
cheatermk3 posted this 24 June 2015

I've been participating in CBA matches for a few years.  I joined the assn. because I wanted to more fully participate in the matches.

Recently, a question that I have yet to recieve a definitive answer for was discussed, briefly, here:

http://noebulletmolds.com/smf/index.php/topic,800.0.html>http://noebulletmolds.com/smf/index.php/topic,800.0.html

See replies 7 and 8 . 

Just what info is to be had in answering the tech sheet question: “Bump"?

That is, just what is meant by Bumping a boolit?  Is tapering the transition from the nose(bore riding) section to the driving band(body?) to be considered “Bumping"?

I, and some of my friends answer this question on the tech data sheet “No” even though some taper their boolits to match(or try to) the angle at the origin of the lands.

So, is this correct?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
John Alexander posted this 24 June 2015

This question can better be answered by someone who does it.  But the first thing to know is the is that the term “bumping” is used to describe at least three different but similar operations. If I remember correctly back in the late 1970s CBA shooters with molds producing bore riding type bullets with under sized noses found that they would sometimes shoot better if you mashed them a little extra in the lubrisizer to fatten up the nose.  They called it bumping. in engineering this is called upsetting, but bumping it is now. This lead to a lot of broken lubrisizers because with hard bullets and small noses this took a lot of force.

John Ardito gets credit for coming up with the system that many top CBA shooters now use. His method involves making a tapered throat and a die with the same reamer.  When the bullet is mashed into the die the result is a near perfect fit in the throat. This should be called swaging but is usually also called bumping.