What makes a revolver accurate?

• 3.8K Views
  • Last Post 21 December 2015
tomme boy posted this 09 January 2015

I am new to revolvers. I have been doing some reading on what to make a revolver to shoot. But a lot of information is left out. So lets hear what it takes.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 10 January 2015

http://www.castbulletassoc.org/view_user.php?id=6494>tomme boy

Revolvers generally shoot cast bullets that fit correctly better than jacketed bullets. An important factor is being able to detect problems that make a revolver terrible with cast bullets. Some of the common problems you should be aware of that make revolvers hopeless or very expensive to get ready for cast bullet shooting are:

1, Excessive gap between cylinder and barrel. 2. A barrel with tight spots anywhere. 3. Chamber constriction equal to or larger than groove to groove  bore diameter. 4, rough or out of round cylinder constriction 5, rough, chattered or out of round barrel throat. 6, rough chattered or eroded bore.

These things are repairable to a degree by a competent pistol-smith. Some revolvers are out of the range of being able to be repaired or even be made suitable for cast bullet shooting.

No modern revolvers are specifically designed for cast bullet shooting. Many older revolvers are designed for cast bullet shooting. The biggest problem with modern revolvers and cast bullets is cylinder throats equal to G to G bore diameter. That equity is fine for jacketed bullets but is marginal to horrible for cast bullets. That equity problem to cast bullet shooting is common to some modern revolver makers. When the Cylinder throats are worse than equity and larger than G to G bore diameter, the particular revolver will likely never be a good cast bullet shooter.

A set of pin gauges is a common and effective tool set to detect revolvers that are not suitable for cast bullets.